Breaking the Ice

Now listen, I’m not saying I’m a pioneer in turning 20 or anything like that. Mankind has survived and procreated during their 20’s many of years before I even became a speck of being. I’m here to say that the 20’s is like a rough wave and we need to remind each other that sadly, we are all in this cramped, broke, uninsured boat together. Here, on this e-manifesto, I welcome you all to laugh, judge, connect, cry, and cry some more with me as you will learn from the mistakes I made or just be entertained by all the, “D’oh,” moments I make (imagine Homer Simpson smacking his forehead here).

Alright, I guess I should talk a little bit about me…even though one of the things you should know about me is I hate talking about myself which society shames but it’s nothing to be ashamed about fellow introverts or humbled peeps. Okay, I’ll get on with it. I’m currently living at home with my parents after I graduated from college at UCDavis. OH MY F-BOMB. I know. I’m a failure. An “adult-child”, a “boomeranger”, a “failed fledgling.” I’m 24 years old and I’m sharing a room with my kid sister! Fine. She’s a teen which in retrospect is like living with a she-devil (No-offense but actually yeah offense to teenagers errywhere). This is probably a story old as time. I mean, I’m not waiting to get married off for cows or anything but many twentysomethings which I’m gonna start calling T-bodies can understand my pain and if you don’t I shall reveal to you what it’s like anyway. This will be my first myth busted! It’s not the end of the world. It’s actually the beginning which should excite you! Living with your parents after college where you had complete freedom to let your hair down may seem like a total bust. However, there’s probably not another time where you will ride out free rent. Woohooo! Which is better than free pizza, trust me. It’s true, when I first moved in with my family in Los Angeles I was a sad lil goober. Frankly, I got pretty depressed and found myself questioning myself and wondering what my purpose was every day. I kept trying to distract myself and wishing for Dumbledore to fly down and take me to Hogwarts. But I somehow managed to shake it off and get over myself to work my way to becoming a decent human being.

Nothing is permanent! It’s been 7 months since I moved in with my folks and now I’m leaving in 2 and it feels like those months flew by. What was I being so dramatic for? Just keep your head high fellow T-bodies and enjoy the free rent while it lasts cuz rent-control is like finding a unicorn.

So, I welcome you all to please sit back and kick your feet up while I lay out my insides to you, warts and all. I will try to answer all the questions that you must have all probably had (Mostly for my female friends because I am one) but were too afraid to ask or thought was too dumb. Like, “what the hell does heteroflexible mean?” “Is a vag supposed to smell like that?” “Does a 9-5 really kill your soul?” “When do I start to think about aging?” and more. I will primarily focus on sex, dating, and lifestyle tips during the early 20’s for women but will also talk about things like taxes from time to time. My approach will be to provide you with simple, efficient, unadulterated, and useful advice that I have painstakingly compiled through old-school trial and error. I’m saving a seat for you in this cozy boat, ready to take you on a wet ride 😉

Leave a Reply

